Semantic Web

The Semantic Web provides a common framework that allows data to be shared and reused across application, institutions, and community boundaries.The standards promote common data formats and exchange protocols on the Web.

It defines common formats for integration and combination of data drawn from diverse sources.

From a technical point of view, the Semantic Web consists primarily of three technical standards:

  1. OWL (Web Ontology Language) The schema language, or knowledge representation (KR) language, of the Semantic Web. OWL enables you to define concepts composably so that these concepts can be reused as much and as often as possible. This means that each concept is carefully defined so that it can be selected and assembled in various combinations with other concepts as needed for many different applications and purposes.
  2. RDF (Resource Description Framework): The data modeling language for the Semantic Web. All Semantic Web information is stored and represented in the RDF.
  3. Triplestore and SPARQL (SPARQL Protocol and RDF Query Language): The database and the query language of the Semantic Web.
1 reply
  1. Courtney Castleman
    Courtney Castleman says:


    I am working on uploading projects to this website for work and am having issues trying to add contributors to each project (students + faculty) as well as publishing each page for the world to see. Help on each would be appreciated.


Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *